midnight’s mistress

rarasaur

Morning isn’t good to me, no matter how much I try.  On paper, he’s such an idyllic partner.  All the best magazines say that if I treat him right, he’ll treat me right.  All the best people tell me stories about how he made their dreams come true.

But I’ve never seen his bright side.

I wake up before I need to, and spend a few vulnerable moments in his care.  He overloads me, calling the light to my eyes, urging the birds to tell their loudest stories, telling the city that I am awake and it is okay to move the heaviest things there ever was.

Morning isn’t good to me.  He hurts me, even when I try.  I spend so much energy just working with him, balancing his power, that I have no time left for myself. My senses strain, my muscles ache, the world under my feet…

View original post 193 more words

One thought on “midnight’s mistress

Tell us something interesting...

