Out in the orchard

Vampire Maman

Out in the orchard she stood in the dark yelling at the ghosts to leave.

He stood on the veranda next to me shaking his head. “I don’t know. She is obsessed by them.”

Leaning against a wicker chair he closed his eyes.

“You ok?” I put my hand on his shoulder. It seemed a little skinny – more than normal. “When was the last time you ate?”

He shrugged his shoulder. “Sometimes I think Eleora is losing her mind. Do you see any ghosts out there?”

“Two in the pear tree. They’re just sitting, ignoring her.”

“I can’t get her to come in. I can’t get her to leave so we can eat. She doesn’t want anyone over or delivery.”

“You should have called me earlier.”

“I didn’t know it would be like this. I love her no matter what but I had no idea she’d change like this.”

View original post 273 more words

