Art, love and the romantic soul

Vampire Maman

The closest I get to a true religious experience is when I’m in the presence of art.

Recently while at the De Young Museum in San Francisco for the Girl with the Pearl Earring Exhibit my daughter smiled and asked “are you going to have a religious experience today?”

My answer was “yes I am.” And I did.

I can explain the wonder and awe and feeling of being so complete and one with the universe when I’m in the presence of art. It is time travel for the soul. It is the essence of being. It was something that transports.  It is like a high that no drug can match. It is magic.

There is something romantic about most art as well, or at least the art I’m attracted to, be if figural, landscape, modern or ancient.

 

Teresa of Avila (a favorite among my people) Teresa of Avila (a favorite among my people)

One of my…

View original post 819 more words

